Home About People Events Research Positions Guest programme Impressum

From Higher Invariants


The Transatlantic Transchromatic Homotopy Theory Conference II

Warm-up conference

Unfortunately, due to the current coronavirus pandemic, we have had to postpone the conference until 2021. We are currently also organizing a one-day conference to be held via Zoom. The Zoom link for the conference will be provided to registered participants in due time.

Schedule for warm-up conference

Date: August 3, 2020.

Speaker 1 (16:00 CEST, 10:00 EDT): Georg Tamme, Regensburg University

Speaker 2 (17:00 CEST, 11:00 EDT): Nicola Bellumat, University of Sheffield. Iterated chromatic localization

Speaker 3 (17:40 CEST, 11:40 EDT): Eva Belmont, Northwestern. ℝ-Motivic homotopy theory and the Mahowald invariant.

Speaker 4 (18:20 CEST, 12:20 EDT): William Balderrama, UIUC. Approximating higher algebra by derived algebra.

Speaker 5 (19:00 CEST, 13:00 EDT): Paul VanKoughnett, Purdue.

Speaker 6 (19:40 CEST, 13:40 EDT): Vesna Stojanoska, UIUC

Registration for the warm-up conference

Please register for the warm-up conference here. Note that if you have already registered for the Transchromatic Homotopy Theory conference you will be automatically registered for this conference.

Aims and Scope

Transchromatic phenomena appear in a variety of contexts. These include stable and unstable homotopy theory, higher category theory, topological field theories, and arithmetic geometry. The aim of the conference is to bring together people from all of these areas in order to understand the relationship between each others work and to further demystify the appearance of transchromatic patterns in such disparate areas.


Invited lectures

  • Agnes Beaudry (Colorado)
  • Mark Behrens (Notre Dame)
  • Dan Berwick-Evans (UIUC)
  • Irina Bobkova (Texas A&M)
  • Natalia Castellana (UAB Barcelona)
  • Paul Goerss (Northwestern)
  • John Greenlees (Warwick)
  • David Hansen (MPIM Bonn)
  • Hans-Werner Henn (Strasbourg)
  • Nick Kuhn (Virginia)
  • Jack Morava (JHU)
  • Vesna Stojanoska (UIUC)
  • Neil Strickland (Sheffield)
  • Georg Tamme (Regensburg)


Titles and Abstracts available [here].

Financial Support

Limited financial support for the conference and younger participants has been provided by the SFB 1085: Higher Invariants. Funding is also available through the NSF grant DMS-1955705 for early-career US based participants. The deadline for full consideration of funding applications has been extended until April 5th, 2020.


Registration

Practical Information

MAP: Points of Interest.

University Map.

PUBLIC TRANSIT: Local bus system and route map.

There are many useful buses typically, but the 6 will suffice for getting to and from the city center and the conference room.

One can also walk to the conference room from the 'Universitat' bus stop on campus, which is better served by the bus system. The 6, 11, C6, and C11 buses all travel between the HBF (central station) and the Universitat bus stop. The 6, 11, C6, and C11 towards campus can all be caught here and one of them stops at this stop about every 5 minutes during working hours.

You can pay for a bus ride on entering the bus or purchase a strip of tickets from one of the ticket machines. A strip of tickets costs 9.00 euros and it allows five bus rides.

ACCOMMODATION:

Regensburg is a tourist destination and we encourage guests to book their rooms as early as possible. Here is a list of hotels in the area:

1. Hotel Kaiserhof am Dom (In the city center, must take a bus to the University.)

2. Hotel Muenchner Hof (In the city center, must take a bus to the University.)

3. Hotel Apollo (Near the conference, but limited eating options.)

4. Hotel Jakob (In the center, must take a bus to the University.)

5. Hotel Central (In the city center, must take a bus to the University.)

One can also check the standard alternatives:

1. Hotels.com

2. Airbnb

TRAVEL: One can reach the university by following the instructions here.

INTERNET: Access to eduroam is available throughout the mathematics building. For those without eduroam access we will obtain a temporary guest account through the university.


Organizers